Banner for Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch Reviews 

56
•
TrustScore 4 out of 5

4.2

159 Orchard Road, Harewood, 8053 Christchurch Airport, North Island, NZ

•

While we don't verify specific claims because reviewers' opinions are their own, we may label reviews as "Verified" when we can confirm a business interaction took place. Read more

To protect platform integrity, every review on our platform—verified or not—is screened by our 24/7 automated software. This technology is designed to identify and remove content that breaches our guidelines, including reviews that are not based on a genuine experience. We recognise we may not catch everything, and you can flag anything you think we may have missed. Read more

See what reviewers are saying

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

We have now hired at least 9 times with Apollo. Apollo Motorhomes are a great company to deal with and they offer a variety of different campers in size and price. The staff are very helpful at chec... See more

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Everything worked well from our initial review of options through booking, collection, operation and return. The website is informative, the company is clear about what you will get and the campervan... See more

Company replied

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It was a great experience with the motorhome from Apollo. Nearly new vehicle and the package really helped us enjoying the road trip.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Waited an hour for our van to be ready, they admitted we had been overlooked. Photos of the previous damages in the report for the van before she left were for a different van. Gas hob stove top... See more

Company replied


Company details

  1. Recreational Vehicle Rental Agency

Written by the company

Take the ultimate adventure with Apollo, thl’s flagship rental brand. With the most extensive and diverse fleet, Apollo has an unrivalled selection of options to suit every traveller’s unique style and needs.​ Apollo offers a motorhome for every kind of traveller and every kind of journey. Whether it’s a family making memories at a favourite holiday park, a couple chasing a romantic escape, or friends embarking on a bucket-list road trip; Apollo has the right motorhome to match the moment.​


Contact info

  • 159 Orchard Road, Harewood, 8053, Christchurch Airport, North Island, New Zealand

  • 0800 845 222

4.2

Great

TrustScore 4 out of 5

56 reviews

5-star
4-star
3-star
2-star
1-star

Asks customers to review

This company invites their customers to review, whether positive or negative

At Trustpilot, it's all about human content. This business can also access our AI-assisted response tool which helps them draft replies.

How this company uses Trustpilot

See how their reviews and ratings are sourced, scored, and moderated.

4.2

All reviews

(56)

477 reviews in the last 12 months

Write a review
Companies on Trustpilot aren't allowed to offer incentives or pay to hide reviews. Reviews are the opinions of individual users and not of Trustpilot. Read more

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Trip made difficult because of faulty…

Trip made difficult because of faulty sliding side door.

5 September 2026
Unprompted review
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Hi Stephen, we are sorry to hear you had a problem with the sliding door on your camper. This is not the quality we strive for and we appreciate you letting us know.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Wasn’t good

Enjoyable holiday but company wasn’t the best.
Some equipment didn’t work, had a burst water line which was leaking all over the floor that was not top priority when called up to ask for help. Was sent on a 2.5 hour phone call chase between 2 branches who wanted nothing to do with helping me.
I had to find and stop the water leak then drop it off the day after!!! beacuse they wouldn’t send out there 24/7 help car.
We were not shown the van properly had to guess on how to use almost everything (we even got told we didn’t have heating, luckily i watch the pre-check in video so i said don’t we have diesel heating? to which the lady went of yea and carried on never showed us)
The grey water wasn’t emptied when picked up even though they drilled into us about doing the check list which on there is empty grey water.

I had a great holiday and the van for most part was good but i was appalled at to how our situation was handled with the lack of care during and even after the event.

When trying to leave a review on google, both me and my partners reviews were not posted while others have had there’s approved more recently then posting ours.

Your staff and attitudes dealing with this issue were not great by any means and made it much more painful than it needed to be with the lack of communication clearly between different teams. As a customer you guys having a service department and pick up location have no meaning to me when calling in an issue so you i am on a call and have someone telling me this is the wrong place call so and so just to call said place and have them say i need to be on the phone with who i just was.

8 September 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Lachlan. We would like to offer our apologies for the leak you experienced in your Apollo campervan. We completely share your disappointment, and regret that repairs took valuable time from your holiday. Clealy this is not the experience that we wish for any of our customers to have. We have noted your feedback to help our team moving forward, and to ensure that we are consistently providing the best experience and fastest resolutions for our customers. We are happy to hear that you did still have a great holiday overall.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

We had the most incredible experience…

We had the most incredible experience in our Apollo Euro Quest. It was kitted out, in a tidy state and served our family well for our week holiday down south. We were so very grateful too for the service we received from start to finish, with extra effort taken to accommodate our young kids so we could check in and out with little stress. Would highly highly recommend!

8 September 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Hi Carla, thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you and your children enjoyed your Euro Quest!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Had an overall great experience with…

Had an overall great experience with thl. Got upgraded to a 6 berth maui, which was nice. Timo at Christchurch was very accommodating & nice upon vehicle return. Would use thl again on our future trips!

24 August 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great company

Pick up handover was easy,
Drop off was easy.
Motorhome worked great, we really enjoyed it more than we thought we would.

27 August 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Hi Paul, thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear how pleasantly surprised you were with your motorhome! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome service

Awesome service. Great staff, easy pick up and drop off. Campervan was amazing. No hustle at all.

14 August 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Brilliant! Thanks for your review, Azrul!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The convenience of the van …

The convenience of the van and its facilities.

13 August 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Thank you John. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the convenience of your campervan. It's the best way to travel!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Payrise for Krista from Christchurch …

Krista from Christchurch branch is the best… she deserves a payrise.. after a poor customer service from Auckland branch… Krista made our holiday more comfortable and safe- from providing us the snow chain and heaters so that my children, mum n I won’t freeze in the cold. She even demonstrated how to plug/charge in the RV correctly as I was worried the van is not charging as the microwave won’t turn on. She explained it very thoroughly. Krista was very helpful. Thank you again Krista!!!

2 August 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Hi Jennifer, thank you for your kind words for Krista. We will pass them on to her. We appreciate your review.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The service for pick up and drop off…

The service for pick up and drop off was great, the girls are lovely. Did have a couple of issues ,we had to buy a can opener along with a broom and a longer water hose.
I would have thought a can opener would be standard along with a broom to sweep out the van, the water hose we had was just way too short and was absolutely no use for anything, however apart from that our experience was great.

26 July 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Hi Linda, thank you for your review. We're sorry you were missing some items in your camper. A can opener is definitely meant to be part of the kitchen equipment supplied. We'll look into how this one was missed. Thanks for your feedback on the broom and water hose. We are so pleased you had a great trip!

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Being 70 plus years we thought having…

Being 70 plus years we thought having selected the 4 berth motorhome would have been large enough and comfortable. Having another bed above us was too confined when getting up during the night for the bathroom. I had to climb over my partner to get out and when you have another two above you very closterfobeck. Exit narrow between shower and bench. The park brake would come on at random when taking off when you start off at lights and intersections. If this is standard feature of the vehicle it is dangerous. When driving on the road very noisy rattling. Personal may or could have recommended a more suitable option for us as larger and elderly people. Pleasant person showing the vehicle orientation of the vehicle thorough.

16 July 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Hi Robert, thank you for your thoughtful feedback. Should you like to travel with us again, you might like to look at the Apollo Euro Plus. This camper has a bigger bed and is north/south facing so no climbing over eachother to get out. This camper has a second dinette at the front so you can keep the rear bed set up the whole time if you'd prefer and still have somewhere separate to dine. I hope this helps!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Our experience was amazing

Our experience was amazing, the motorhome had everything we needed to feel comfortable, warm, and cozy.
The app thl helped us to find the best spots to stay (paid and free).
We had a minimum accident and the staff responded immediately, and we didn’t get charged as it wasn’t our responsibility.
Excelente way to explore NZ and enjoy our holidays! Thanks

15 June 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Hi Maria, thanks for your feedback and your review. We appreciate it and are so please you enjoyed your holiday.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

staff are very helpful

staff are very helpful, the process of picking up and returning the car is also very simple and convenient.

12 June 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Thank you! We very much appreciate your review and are so happy that our crew were helpful and made you feel confident and supported.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Easy booking

Easy booking, not too expensive, staff were friendly, no issues during pick up and drop off

3 June 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Thanks Patricia! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us your review.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Easy booking process and great…

Easy booking process and great communication leading up to our holiday. The pre-arrival check in was great and saved us a lot of time on the day. Our Motorhome was clean, well appointed and in great condition.

25 May 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Thanks for your review, Perry! We are so pleased that you had a great experience with us.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Unsafe

Waited an hour for our van to be ready, they admitted we had been overlooked.
Photos of the previous damages in the report for the van before she left were for a different van.
Gas hob stove top isolation switch did not work, therefore leaked gas when knobs we’re turned on or leant on by accident. Burner still a light when top closed. So dangerous.
Alarm on dash for multiple times, alarming that the cruise control and ABS were disabled.

8 May 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Stacey. We regret to hear that you experienced a number of issues during your hire. We will note that our motorhomes move through different brands/categories as they age, which will explain why the older damage noted in your report featured different branding. Regarding the other issues you have noted, we were unable to locate reports of these issues during your hire however we will be following up internally to ensure that these areas have been assessed. We do hope that you still found some enjoyable moments during your travels.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Campervan was great apart from a faulty…

Campervan was great apart from a faulty heater switch, and Apollo staff were great to deal with

19 May 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Thanks for your review, Cary. We are sorry to hear about the heater switch but it sounds like that, despite this, you still had a great time!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

worst time table of drop off

worst time table of drop off. Come on, Its a big company and you can’t been provide late drop off at least till 8pm. Shame ruined whole trip moment at last day by making me pay extra day even after i dropped the van in first hour. Worst time for drop off, need to expand drop off time. Really ruined my whole trip in last day.

21 May 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays - Christchurch

Thank you for your review. I will pass on your feedback regarding our opening times to the team. We are sorry these weren't communicated clearly to you prior to your booking.

The Trustpilot Experience

Anyone can write a Trustpilot review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they’ll be displayed as long as an account is active.

We use dedicated people and clever technology to safeguard our platform. Find out how we combat fake reviews.

Learn about Trustpilot’s review process.

Here are 8 tips for writing great reviews.

Verification can help ensure real people are writing the reviews you read on Trustpilot.

Offering incentives for reviews or asking for them selectively can bias the TrustScore, which goes against our guidelines.

Take a closer look